Skip to content
August 27 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: Big Week

RUN.

8/20-26
Monday – 5 morning miles
Tuesday – 8.75 morning miles (including 10x100m strides)
Wednesday – 4 morning miles
Thursday – zero
Friday – 11 morning miles
Saturday – 5 recovery miles, watchless
Sunday – 16.25 miles (+ 2 hours of kickball)
Total = 50 miles

Third week of Pfitz, and my third consecutive week of not following the plan exactly.  Monday should have been a rest day, but since I didn’t run long the prior weekend I didn’t need the rest.  Tuesday was supposed to be just 8 miles but I miscalculated my route.  The 11 miles should have been Thursday but I didn’t make the time, so I did it on the Friday rest day.  Saturday was supposed to be 4, but I read the wrong week on my training chart.  Sunday was pretty close, I just added an extra 0.25 to even out the miles due to the .75 on Tuesday.

Looking ahead at the coming weeks, especially this coming week, I’m wondering if I will even have one week in this plan that I follow the schedule exactly.  I’m contemplating switching my long runs to Saturday mornings instead of Sundays, particularly one Wake Forest football home game days.  I’m a big tailgater and I know my routine well enough to know that Sunday mornings might be a little rough after a big tailgate day.  At least the weather should be a bit cooler so a run later in the day on Sunday might be a little less painful.

My 50 mile week marks my second longest week ever, so far as I can tell from my records.  I had a 60 mile week in November when I ran the two marathons plus a couple shorter runs that week, but that was a rather destructive week on the ol’ body and wasn’t part of training.

The cooler weather in Winston-Salem the past week or so has been very refreshing.  I’m looking forward to autumn.  Though I will admit that one nice thing about summer running is how easy it is to select running clothes.  No need to really think about it, just grab shorts and a singlet.  I’m a little embarrassed how much thought I often have to put into clothes for cold weather running.  Tee?  Long sleeves?  How many layers?  Shorts or capris or long pants?  gloves?  earband?  Granted that’s not really a fall concern as I’m happy in shorts and short sleeves down to temps in the mid-40s usually.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: I cooked up a package of gnocchi and topped it with diced tomatoes and parmesan cheese for dinner on Saturday night.  Always love gnocchi.  Just had the leftovers tonight with some pesto sauce which was actually even more delicious.

oh so tasty

Worst Eat of the Week: I’m not going to lie, it was delicious, but not really a good meal.  On Thursday evening I went to the Winston-Salem Open tennis tournament and had tickets to the Courtside Club which was supposed to be serving dinner.  Unfortunately I waited too long to go in and all that was left was cake and beer.  So dinner was a nice slice of Dewey’s Pink Lemonade Cake and a Pacifico.  Yum.

not the best photo… I felt weird taking the picture in public.

NAP.

Saturday was a very sleepy day.  I had been up at 4am on Friday to get my 11 miles in before work, and slept until like 10am on Saturday.  Only had a short run but I had a nice afternoon nap, probably about 2 hours long.  Then I was still able to go to sleep again by like 10:30-11:00pm.  I must have really needed some sleep!

DRINK.

Duck Rabbit Hoppy Bunny American Black Ale.  Not just an adorable name, but a very delicious beverage.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Meredith / Aug 28 2012 7:11 AM

    I think you should wear “as little as a jog bra.” :-)

    • Emily / Aug 28 2012 9:30 AM

      LOL… you are right, that would be the suggestion! :)

  2. D Wells / Aug 28 2012 8:08 AM

    50 mi? I bow before your greatness! Fantastic week!

    • Emily / Aug 28 2012 9:32 AM

      Thanks Darrel! I need to keep up this kind of mileage to break through to a new PR.

  3. hinsone / Aug 28 2012 8:48 PM

    One thing I loved about the Higden’s trainer was the flexibility of it. Three run days, 2 cross days, 2 rest days, so you can move things around if you need to. I don’t think you should feel bad about switching things up, it’s called having a life. Especially if you only shift by one day. I just found out we’re having a (drug rep hosted) dinner thursday night with a group from work, so that will push my thursday run to friday. These things happen. (And it always seems to be Thursday for some reason.. why? I can’t figure that out.) You’re putting the work in and I think the results will show, 50 miles is Big Boss mileage for sure!

    Oh, I had a piece of that pink lemonade cake at the Komen walk, and thankfully it was a tiny piece since I was a spectator and didn’t actually run the Komen, but man was it good! The beer looks interesting too. I’ve been meaning to try Duck Rabbit since it’s a local. I’ve seen the Milk Stout, have not seen the Black Ale. Will have to try it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

