Skip to content
February 22 2012 / Emily

Giving up negativity for Lent

At first I thought perhaps I should give up toenails for Lent, but that would be too easy.  The perils of my feet and being a marathon runner.  I considered 40 days without alcohol, or perhaps sweets, or maybe cheese.  But with a brand new blog including “eat” and “drink” in the title, where would that leave me?

So I started thinking, what is my most destructive vice, where do I hurt myself most?  Negativity.  So I will make a concerted effort over the next month+ to quell the negativity that runs through my head so often.  Some of it I let out to friends — sometimes at unsuspecting moments — but other bits fester, unspoken.  Even if it ends up being some silly Stuart Smalley thought, I will try to say or think something positive when I have negative thoughts.

This doesn’t mean nothing can go wrong or I can’t identify setbacks, but I need to be more realistic.  Do I expect to PR at my marathon in 2 weeks?  Of course not.  It’s on trails and I haven’t trained as thoroughly as I should.  But that doesn’t mean I’m a failure as a runner, it just means it’s a tougher course and I might be under-trained.  Or perhaps I will surprise myself.

I’ll also note that this is intended to combat unwarranted negativity.  This means I can still shake my head over the train wreck of the Wake Forest basketball program, a once-proud and beloved sport at my alma mater that is now pure shame.  But that is warranted negativity.

 

So I am giving up pessimism, excuses, unwarranted negativity for Lent.  I think this can end up being better for me than giving up a few beers a week or my Reese’s Cups.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elizabeth / Feb 23 2012 12:06 AM

    Don’t give up the Reese’s! We’re coming into the best time of year for Reese’s… the egg shapes have a great ratio of PB to Choc…

    • runeatnapdrink / Feb 23 2012 9:38 AM

      Oh I’m not. Giving up pb+choc would make me very negative indeed. I think the Reese’s Easter Eggs are the best ratio of all their holiday shapes! I’d better finish my Reese’s Christmas Tree stash in preparation. 🙂

  2. laurenquartz / Feb 23 2012 9:23 AM

    Em, I think this is a great goal, much better than giving up food, which I found only made me a worse person during Lent instead of a better one… Maybe you could even think about it not so much as giving up negativity, but focusing on positives! You have so much going for you as a stellar runner, beautiful girl, and amazing Pinterest recipe maker. Not to mention as a great friend. I hope you’re able to really count your blessings this Lent and focus on a grateful heart – I find that always helps me.

    Of course, I’ll be there if you need to let a little negativity out once in a while. 🙂

    • runeatnapdrink / Feb 23 2012 10:28 PM

      thanks friend. and you are welcome to check in on my progress now and then, until I decide it’s annoying. 😉

  3. Rachel s / Feb 23 2012 10:06 AM

    That’s a great thing to give up! My therapist (yep not ashamed to say it) gave me a really great book called The New Mood Therapy by David Burns, and there are a few chapters about negativity. I highly recommend it!

  4. Dana Custer / Feb 24 2012 7:22 AM

    YAY! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that stuart smalley is on your post!! I think this is a fantastic goal- definitely tough but you are an inspiration!
    PS. The blog is pretty great- you have talent in writing.

  5. Christian / Mar 4 2012 9:44 PM

    I’m relieved to see that I’m not the only one in this world who thinks of Stuart Smalley when I try to raise the positive bar. Hilarious!

    • Emily / Mar 5 2012 12:55 PM

      🙂 I can’t NOT think of Stuart Smalley! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

