Skip to content
March 01 2012 / Emily

Taper-Paranoia. Taparanoia?

Sometimes I can happily go for days without running.  Perhaps that makes me a bad runner, but sometimes it’s nice to just rest for a while.  But when I WANT to run and I’m not supposed to, when Hal Higdon’s training plan and my friends and the general running consensus is REST… that’s when the jitters start.  When I start to feel little twinges – in the back of my right knee, on my left ankle – and convince myself I might need my leg amputated before Saturday or it just might fall off.  Or on my 4-mile run yesterday when the humidity made me feel like I was working so hard and the pace didn’t reflect it – I start wondering what has happened to my fitness, where did I lose it – wasn’t it just a week ago I was feeling on top of the world?
.
I’m running a marathon on Saturday, God-and-weather willing.  That means I’m not allowed to run today.  But it was like 75 degrees outside (good grief it’s only March 1), just the most lovely day, and I want/ed to be out there.
.
I settled for an after-work beer – Blanco Diablo from Big Boss Brewing – at a bar with outdoor seating – Single Brothers – which was a darn good fallback plan.  But it’s weird to be held back when I want to run.  Usually I should be running and I decide not to instead.  This not-running thing is a whole different challenge of self discipline.
.
So I’m starting March with a Zero Day.  And that’s okay.
.
Still on track for a 1200 mile year.  February ended with 111 miles.  I was right at 102 in January, so I’m pleased to get a step-up of miles in a shorter month, but February should have held the peak of my marathon training.  Hopefully I’ll be able to get some 150-200 mile months if/when I get more dedicated to this whole training thing.  I should have had a 50 mile week mid-month but it faded to a 36 mile week.  Oh life, always getting in the way.
.
I should probably do some carbo loading in earnest tonight (pasta is boiling as I write) and tomorrow, not that I tend to lack for carbs at other times.  I’m really lucky beer counts.  Also I’m finding out that I’m like a child with a loose tooth when I have a wonky toenail.  I helped my left big toenail make an exit about a month ago, and last night I (wiggle-wiggle-cut-cut) assisted my right big toenail in making its exit as well.  My big toes are rather hideous without their clothes on, poor fellas.
.
On to dinner, taparanoia and nerves.  Nerves which aren’t calmed by a strange inability for wordpress to recognize I pressed “enter” between paragraphs without having to add a period between three empty lines.
6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Deepa / Mar 1 2012 8:50 PM

    Awesome job on the mileage count! That is remarkable – I should add you to my Talented Girls Rules board on Pinterest (not being snarky) Great job!

    • Emily / Mar 2 2012 11:08 AM

      thanks Deepa. 🙂 You can pin a lot of things, but I’m not sure you can pin me!

  2. laurenquartz / Mar 2 2012 7:53 AM

    Nice work taking the night off. 😉 If that ever happens again, I’m always happy to walk with you! That’s usually a good compromise for me when I can’t run but want to be movin’ around outside.

    You’ll rock it tomorrow!!

    • Emily / Mar 2 2012 11:10 AM

      Ultimately, I wasn’t too torn up about enjoying a beer at a picnic table outside Single Bros, but thank you. I might need a walk next week to keep my legs loose after the race. thanks red!!

  3. Dana Custer / Mar 2 2012 11:27 AM

    Em, your blog is hilarious! And kudos on the time off this week- your legs will be rarin’ to go tomorrow! GOOD LUCK!! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about it!

Trackbacks

  1. Discipline « run. eat. nap. drink.

Leave a Reply

