Skip to content
March 18 2012 / Emily

Half-assed Week Recap

RUN.

Monday – rest/recover from being sick
Tuesday – 4 mile walk
Wednesday – 5k
Thursday – rest
Friday – 2 mi fun run
Saturday – 1.25 mi warmup, 10k race
Sunday – rest
Total = 16.5 miles

I know I said (typed) this last weekend, but this week I really need to get back on track with my training.  Just 5 weeks out from my next marathon, and this one will be a doozy.  I’m not sure the Umstead Trail Marathon will remain my hardest marathon for very long.

EAT.

Best eat of the week: The meal wasn’t anything special, but the company was great.  Two friends came over on Friday night for an entirely unnecessary “carbo load” before the St. Leo’s races.  I made bowtie pasta with tomato sauce and parmesan cheese, and the others brought a nice green salad and peanut-butter-swirl brownies a-la-mode.  We ate together then chatted for a couple hours, which was so nice.

Worst eat of the week: Tonight I attempted chicken fried rice and failed spectacularly.  It’s edible but these won’t be leftovers I’m looking forward to.

NAP.

Saturday afternoon gave a brilliant nap opportunity.  After the race I took a shower and then met friends for an Irish lunch at the local pub, where I enjoyed shepherd’s pie and a Guinness.  An early race morning, warm weather race and heavy lunch with beer is the perfect recipe for a perfect nap.

DRINK.

I’d be remiss to give the drink of the week award to anything but Guinness.  Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day, after all!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. laurenquartz / Mar 19 2012 12:59 PM

    I think the carbo load was the secret to our success on Saturday! Or maybe it was the birthday cake Oreos… 😉

Leave a Reply

