Skip to content
March 23 2012 / Emily

Discipline

Discipline.

A few weeks ago in my Taper Madness post, I wrote: “This not-running thing is a whole different challenge of self discipline.”  Well that’s sure not something I’ve been faced with lately.  Four mornings this week, today included, I have set my alarm for 5:30am in order to get some miles in before work.  Only once did I actually make it out the door.  I didn’t even wake up particularly tired, just unwilling to get out of bed.  Re-set the alarm for 6:45 and went back to sleep.

I think I am still partially adjusting to the time change and how much darker it is in the morning.  And of course, not being in a morning-run routine continually damages the potential of getting into said routine.  It’s not as easy to wake up at 5:30 when I go to bed at 11:30, as it is when I am sleep by 10:00.  Sure, I have some weekly activities that push my bedtime back a bit, and I’m not giving up trivia night, but there are plenty of other evenings that a healthy dose of caffeine at lunch make it easy to stay up watching TV until 11:00.  I have a DVR – I need to just save those shows for later.  I need to force myself into getting ready for bed earlier and once it becomes routine, it will be easier.  Plus it will continue to get lighter in the mornings and hotter in the evenings, making the morning more appealing.  Then there is the burgeoning warm weather social calendar when there is just more to do after work, making miles less likely.

This morning I was trying to make excuses for myself.  That my work in marathon training has not paid off lately, getting personal worsts in my last 2 marathons.  But then I reminded myself: I have PRed the 5k and 10k in the last 6 weeks.  Something is happening.  While I have been toying around with the idea of a summer marathon, I may convince myself to hold off (after the Blue Ridge Marathon in 4 weeks) and wait for a fall marathon.  Spend the summer focusing on speed work perhaps.  I definitely aim to run the Ultimate Runner event again (5-event track meet – 1mi, 400m, 800m, 100m, 5k XC), so some time on the track might be the change of pace I need to rejuvenate my running.  And while that kind of speed work isn’t for marathons, maybe some Yass0 800s could be thrown in there, so I can still think of myself as a “marathoner” while I’m pounding out laps on the track.

But for now, here is my challenge to myself: next week I will run before work three days out of five (Monday through Friday).

Additionally I am going to attempt four non-running exercises per week for the next few weeks.  Nothing elaborate, just trying to work on toning.  So far this week, Monday I did crunches, Tuesday I did some arm weights (note: all I have is 8lb dumbbells at home) and Thursday I did a variety of ab and core work.

From routine comes discipline.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Deepa / Mar 23 2012 8:01 PM

    Hey Emily,

    I really admire the discipline you have into your workout routine. It is very inspiring for those of us who try to get on track with regards to our own fitness regimens. Awesome job!

  2. runningfromscratch / Mar 27 2012 4:04 PM

    Emily! I will take that challenge on with you! I set my alarm for 5:30 every morning but always end up sleeping later. I get to bed early enough and I’m not tired when the alarm goes off, but I’m just too lazy to get out of bed. I have to run tonight, so I’ll do 2 days this week, but hopefully those 2 days will turn into more days 🙂

Leave a Reply

