Skip to content
April 01 2012 / Emily

Taco Soup

Another Sunday, another weekly recipe!

Some friends of mine have a one month old baby and today I took them dinner.  Though it has been unseasonably warm lately, I decided to go with a recipe I am comfortable with instead of trying something new and perhaps more seasonably timed.  So I made Taco Soup.  This is a recipe that is very flexible for what you have on hand, but I’ll just mention my usual ingredients.

While of course many of these ingredients do contain carbohydrates, this is one of the few non-carb-centric meals in my regular rotation.  Runners don’t have to be super-carbed at all times, though I often am anyway!

Taco Soup

1 jar salsa + 1 jar-full water
1 can (store brand Rotel) diced tomatoes with chiles – original
1 can corn with peppers
1 large can cooked white meat chicken
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 packet taco seasoning mix
1 packet ranch dressing powder mix
1.5 cups frozen sliced okra
optional: shredded cheese
optional: tortilla chips

Mix all ingredients in large pot and simmer until heated through and okra is cooked.  The longer you simmer, the more the flavors will combine.  Today I cooked for about 30-40 minutes.  Ladle into bowls and serve immediately, optionally add shredded cheese and tortilla chips for topping or scooping.

Yield: 6-8 servings.

You could use so many different ingredients.  My grocery store was out of medium-heat store brand salsa, so I went with mild, considering I was sharing with others.  I didn’t have any tortilla chips as I got a bagful for my friends but none for myself.  Whoops!  I’ve made this with leftover ground turkey, both seasoned with taco mix (in which case, exclude the envelope of taco powder) and plain – but sometimes laziness convenience wins out.  A jar of salsa verde would probably be a great addition as well.  Can/jar sizes aren’t always standard, but you can see the choices I made in my ingredients photo below.

My preferences have this “soup” turn into more of a chili in terms of thickness.  If you want a thinner soup, add some chicken broth or even just more water.

nearly all the ingredients

combine all the cans and jars, then add the okra

top with shredded cheese and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

