Skip to content
April 01 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: No Fooling.

Run.

Monday – [exercise: kickball scrimmage]
Tuesday – 3 miles before work; 8 miles after work
Wednesday – 4 miles after work [core, arms]
Thursday – 5 miles before work
Friday – [squats, upper body]
Saturday – 20 miles
Sunday – [core]
Total = 40 miles

This week brings me to almost 330 miles for the year, still on track for my 1200 mile goal.  102 January, 111+ February, 116+ March.

I only managed two morning runs, even with my repeated declaration I would do three.  So that’s a disappointment.  But I got my 4 non-running workouts done [in brackets], which feels good!  Saw some improvement from just one week prior, which I guess is to be expected when starting with so little.

Tuesday morning I did a focused hill run with a purposefully hilly route to trade off for the shorter distance.  Then Tuesday evening I had looped around a bit and needed a bit more mileage so I added one of the more brutal hills again.  My legs were definitely feeling it for the next couple of days.

During Wednesday’s post-run core work I was doing some “pendulum” and wondered why it was hurting my lower back so much.  Then I realized I was wearing shorts with a big zipper pocket along the back upper waistband, and rolling back and forth on the metal wasn’t doing me any favors.  I stopped once I figured it out but that spot was tender for days!  I was not appreciating the lumbar support of my office chair the next day.  Damn you, lululemon zipper pocket!

Eat.

I’ll give this one to taco soup as I just posted about it, but a strong runner-up was a bento box lunch on Friday.  I drew “sushi” twice this week on the Draw Something app/game, and definitely had some sushi cravings.  So yeah, a bento box with a boring California roll is a total sushi cop-out but I’ll go get some good raw fish soon!

Nap.

Would you believe I did not nap at all this week?  For shame!  I guess that’s what happens when I put off my 20 miler until about 11am… when you get to sleep 8.5 hours, even the long run doesn’t force a nap.

Drink.

I’ve had these two bottles of beer in my fridge for a little while now, and I finally got around to drinking them.  I’ve long been a fan of Young’s Double Chocolate Stout, but when someone mentioned making “chocolate covered banana beer,” I was intrigued.  So I bought a bottle of Young’s and a bottle of Well’s Banana Bread Beer.  I was told to go for the 50/50 ratio so I did, pouring the banana first, then the chocolate.  I’ll be honest… not impressed.  I like the Young’s Double Chocolate Stout enough on its own, I think the banana did a disservice.  Definitely didn’t taste reminiscent of a chocolate covered banana to me.  My recommendation: stick with the Young’s.

Note 1: this did not stop me from finishing both bottles.

Note 2: the great “Beer is my friend” glass came from Aviator Brewing, a place in Fuquay Varina, NC which is a little south of Raleigh.  They came to Winston-Salem last summer for a beer festival and I came away with a pint glass.

banana

chocolate

well, ONE of these beers is my friend, at least.

Other.

I may be playing around with the blog’s format in the next few days.  I’m not satisfied with this layout I chose and am likely going to switch to a theme with a sidebar.  Just a heads up to my faithful reader(s) who might get confused!

Also, my Garmin watch (Garmin Forerunner 405) has gone into a coma.  I’m very distressed by this and need to get some attention to my poor watch soon.  Stay tuned for more thoughts on that.

Leave a Reply

