Skip to content
April 15 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: Taper Easy

I’ve made some changes to the blog layout.  Pleased so far, but it’s likely still a work in progress.  Bear with me.  🙂

RUN.

Monday – [exercise: kickball game]
Tuesday – 6 miles after work
Wednesday – rest
Thursday – 4.5 miles after work with a friend [ab and core workout]
Friday – [arms: curls, shrugs, flies]
Saturday – 8 miles in the morning with a friend
Sunday – 1.5 miles walking
Total = 20 miles

Perhaps a bit of over-tapering.  The taper did not challenge me like it has before.  I was plenty busy with other activities and there weren’t occasions of wishing I could run more.  Did I think about it?  Sure.  But I know the work is done, and pushing too hard or going too far now will not benefit me in the marathon.  I’m going to take it easy this upcoming week on the non-running workouts too, because I’ve been a bit sore after some of my workouts and the last thing I need is tender abs during the race – I’ll be hurting enough as is.  (Can you tell the trademarked “America’s toughest road marathon” is freaking me out?!)

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: Lamb Vindallo with rice and naan from Nawab.  A bit of a girls’ night out, and it was so good.  Medium spice level added a nice amount of kick and the lamb was the most tender meat I’ve had in a long time.  Just fantastic.  If you live in the Winston-Salem area, be sure to give Nawab a try.  I hadn’t been there in months and I’m wondering why it fell off my radar… will definitely try to go more often after this delicious reminder.

Runner Up: just a random lunch out this week at Penn Station Subs.  It’s a favorite lunch stop of mine during the work week, no small thanks to the presence of Diet Mountain Dew on their soda fountain.  This week I got an artichoke sub and fries… the blogworthy part is the mini chocolate chip cookie I found buried in my french fries.  What a sweet surprise.

can you spot the cookie surprise?

Worst Eat of the Week: No contenders for bad-tasting food, so I’ll go with one of the unhealthier meals of the week.  Today I went to a Dash game, the local minor league baseball team, and we had some special “picnic tickets” which gave us access to a free buffet.  I had a hot dog with sliced cheese on a standard white bun, baked beans, chocolate chip cookies and a Natty Greene’s Buckshot Amber Ale (not free).  Delicious? – yes.  Required ballpark food? – pretty much.  Healthy? – not at all.  The only redeeming fact is that when a friend and I went back for more food in the 5th inning, they had run out.  Otherwise a second hot dog or perhaps a chicken sandwich or cheeseburger would have made this truly gluttonous.

NAP.

Saturday late afternoon.  The day started early with a run at the lake, then progressed to a sort of tailgate to the Wake Forest spring football game for a couple hours, then the actual game lasted a couple hours.  I got a little bit of sun in that time.  After some errands and a glass of wine on the back porch (response to a cancelled wine tasting), I managed to get about 45 minutes of shut-eye before dinner.

Honorable mention goes to the multiple times I drifted off while watching “Cowboys and Aliens” with a friend later that evening.  Good movies and bad movies alike put me to sleep (movie verdict was it should have been more campy – it was good enough but I was hoping for “so bad it was good”).  I shouldn’t be allowed to make myself comfortable on a couch, especially not with a nice glass of pinot noir.

DRINK.

Lots of choices this week.  I’ve long known this, of course, but alcohol is a definitely caloric danger zone for me.  Now that the weather is nice again (though it wasn’t ever really too bad this winter), the occurrences of gathering for a drink just skyrocket.  Monday, beer after kickball; Tuesday, beer at trivia; Friday, bourbon after dinner; Saturday, beer at tailgate, wine pre-nap, wine after dinner; Sunday, beer at baseball game.  It’s no wonder I restricted myself to salad for dinner tonight!  Hmmm, drink of the week winner goes to the Leinenkugel Summer Shandy, a tasty wheat beer with lemonade that I enjoyed at the tailgate, which really just made me think SUMMER!

OTHER.

Worth mentioning: my honestly somewhat impressive kickball injury.  The other team threw the ball into my feet as I was sprinting to first base, and somehow I managed to totally wipe out.  I’m talking ragdoll flopping in the air sort of wipe out.  I was wearing cleats and somehow my opposite foot flipped up into my thigh and did some rather visible damage.  And this was through sweatpants (photographed later).

the perils of cleats

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / Apr 15 2012 10:48 PM

    I love Nawab! That sounds absolutely delicious. I usually go for the lunch buffet because I like to try a little bit of everything. I can’t wait to hear about your marathon!

    • Emily / Apr 16 2012 12:38 PM

      I work in Greensboro so I can’t ever get to the Nawab lunch buffet – I hear good things though, and would love to try it someday. If this marathon report is anything like my last one, it’ll be plenty to read. 🙂

      • hinsone / Apr 16 2012 5:07 PM

        They have the buffet lunch on Saturday (of course it’s more expensive). There’s a couple good indian resturants in Greensboro too.. I’d have to think though, it’s been a while since I lived in Greensboro.

  2. laurenquartz / Apr 16 2012 9:05 AM

    YUM to that sandwich up there. Definitely an exciting cookie suprise too!! Annnnnnd, count me in next time you go to Nawab, if there’s room for another girl in the girls night out. 😉 I love Indian food! And your company obviously.

    • Emily / Apr 16 2012 12:39 PM

      Which do you love more – my company, or Indian food? haha. I’ll let you know next time! I wouldn’t say it would fit into a “low spending” budget though, necessarily. Maybe we can BR(R)H there sometime for a special treat!

Leave a Reply

