Skip to content
May 22 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: a last minute race

RUN.

5/14-20
Monday – 3.3 miles
Tuesday – 5 after work miles with a friend (inc. 3×1600 race pace) [100 curls, 100 shrugs]
Wednesday – 4 morning miles
Thursday – 6 after work miles tempo [kickball game]
Friday – rest
Saturday – 5k race – report to come
Sunday – unplanned rest day
Total = 21.5 miles

I am at peace with my unexpected day off.  There was a death in my family – my cousin, he was only 19 years old.  The news was such a shock and I just couldn’t get myself out the door that day.

The race on Saturday was a fairly late decision.  Well, I did register on Tuesday so I can’t say it was completely last minute, but I wasn’t really in the mood for racing — I just wanted to keep my race-a-month streak going.  So far, so good.  More on that race hopefully tomorrow when I get around to the race recap post.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: This fantastic cookie dough dip, served with graham crackers and granny smith apple slices.  Go to this blog for the recipe: Add a Pinch.

cookie dough dip. nom.

Worst Eat of the Week: A dozen (well, almost) burnt funfetti cupcakes.  My oven is incredibly difficult.  Most of the numbers are worn off the temperature knob and it doesn’t hold a temperature very well.  I set to around 300 and when I opened the oven it was 400, so I turned it down and left it open until the temp dropped.  Put two trays of cupcakes in (minis on the center/top shelf, full size nearer the bottom rack) and about 8 minutes later I opened to remove the mini cupcakes and found the big ones burning.  It was 400 degrees again.  The mini-cupcakes were fine but most of the big ones were beyond rescue.  I salvaged one to bring to the party (I was bringing the birthday cake!!) and kept one that I was able to cut off the burnt and eat myself – but it wasn’t presentable enough to bring to a gathering.  The rest went in the garbage.  So sad.

they look salvageable… but they were not.

pesky oven knobs

 

NAP.

Sunday afternoon escape.

DRINK.

Nothing special, particularly.  Diet Mountain Dew is always my lifeblood, especially when I’m waking up early for running.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / May 22 2012 11:27 PM

    So sorry to hear about the death in you family! 😦

    Hope the race went well!

Trackbacks

  1. Amaretto Apricot Chews « run. eat. nap. drink.

Leave a Reply

