Skip to content
May 28 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: another weekend off

RUN.

5/21-27
Monday – 5 morning miles [kickball game]
Tuesday – 6 miles after work at the track, inc 5×800
Wednesday – 4 morning miles
Thursday – 5 morning miles
Friday – rest
Saturday – zero.
Sunday – zero.
Total = 20 miles

I really need to stop pretending I’m going to run while out of town.  I only went as far as Asheville for the weekend, for some friends’ wedding, and I told myself that of course I would run, but I should know better.  A second weekend in a row where I totally skipped my long run… might need to re-scrap that PR goal for the half marathon, as I’m far from dedicated to my training.

I really should know better, be more dedicated to my training or more honest to myself with my goals.  And now it’s likely I’ll be out of town again this coming weekend for a funeral… got to get my discipline back.  I’m a busy bee with lots of activities in my life, and I need to make time for my running if I want to continue enjoying it.  Because when I don’t perform well, it upsets me, and poor training generally yields poor performance.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: the wedding and welcome dinner both had great foods.  I’ll declare the cheesy grits and banana pudding as the best of the welcome dinner, and the variety of assorted cakes as the big winner at the wedding.  This is because there were like 6-8 different cake flavors so I was able to select a slice of carrot cake, my all time favorite.

Worst Eat of the Week: I can’t think of anything that disappointed this week.  Plenty of great food.

NAP.

I was fortunate enough to have friends to carpool with to the wedding, and they shared the driving – so I was able to take a lovely nap in the backseat of the car on the way home from the Asheville area.

DRINK.

It was Asheville Beer Week.  I went to a number of bars and had some delicious assorted beverages.  I’ll be making a full post on those soon, because the beers deserve it.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / May 28 2012 8:03 PM

    When is your half? I know it sucks to miss the long run, but you’re still putting in good weekly miles. I know the feeling, between work and working out I feel like I am never home. Of course I don’t have a social life, so that helps.

    • Emily / May 29 2012 11:06 AM

      I’ve got halves June 16 & July 14, but I was hoping to turn my attention more to Ultimate Runner after the June 16 half. July 14 is all downhill so that should help.

      • hinsone / May 29 2012 8:51 PM

        Oh ok, where you running those? My next will be Raleigh in November. (Now of course I read it’s a very hilly course and they have a strict 3 hour time limit so I’m a little worried but should be OK).

    • Emily / May 30 2012 9:41 PM

      for some reason I can’t reply to your later comment. the halves are in PA and NC (mountains). I’m sure sub-3 hours is well in your reach for November!

      • hinsone / May 31 2012 10:01 PM

        Good luck!

Leave a Reply

