Skip to content
June 20 2012 / Emily

Troegs Brewery Visit

Last week I had the opportunity to visit the Troegs Brewery in Hershey, Pennsylvania.  I was up in central PA visiting my sister, and she was excited to bring me to one of the great local craft breweries.

We arrived, and I was overwhelmed by the selection of beers in the tap room.

So many choices!

With so many to choose from, I was pleased to find the option for a sampler flight of their year-round beers.  It consisted of six 4-ounce pours: Dreamweaver, Pale Ale, Hopback, Perpetual, Troegenator and Flying Mouflan.

palette of delicious

I started with the Dreamweaver Wheat Ale.  It was an unfiltered wheat beer that had a weird banana taste.  I do like wheat beer, but the banana flavor just didn’t do it for me.

Next was the Pale Ale.  No clever name for this one, just the Troegs Pale Ale.  It was a fairly standard pale ale, I suppose.  Tasty enough.

Third was the HopBack Amber Ale.  Apparently this is the flagship beer of the brewery, and it does make a statement for Troegs!  I quite enjoyed it.

Fourth was the Perpetual IPA – but this “IPA” stands for Imperial Pale Ale, not India Pale Ale like it generally does (at least to my knowledge).  This beer used to be a seasonal but is a new addition to their year-round offerings and therefore new to the year-round sampler flight.  This one came highly recommended from some beer connoisseurs I know, and well deserved.  Very good beer.

While we were all hanging out and enjoying some frosty beverages, one of the kind fellows in the party bought some buttery popcorn and a giant barley-coated soft pretzel to share.

delicious ginormous pretzel

Beer number five was the Troegenator Double Bock.  This was my favorite!  It’s the darkest-colored beer on the sampler (the one without much head) and was very rich.  Higher alcohol content too, at 8.2%.  I ended up buying a growler of this one and really look forward to having another glass.

My final beer sample was actually a replacement for the Java Head Stout which they were out of at the time.  I’m okay with that since coffee is not my preferred flavor.  Instead I got the Flying Mouflan Barleywine, another rather high gravity beer at 9.3%.  Quite the unique name, and I have no idea where it came from.  I did enjoy the Flying Mouflan, but found myself wishing I’d saved the Troegenator for last.  🙂

Troegs was thoroughly sampled.

I got another beer, a big glass of the Brotherly Suds Volume 3.   According to Beer Advocate, it “was created collectively by brewers from Iron Hill Brewing, Sly Fox Brewing, Stoudt’s Brewing, Tröegs Brewing, Victory Brewing and Yards Brewing, and brewed at Tröegs Brewery in Hershey.”  This was a one-time beer under the “scratch” category, Scratch #67 to be exact.  These are their experimental beers.

I took my glass and we headed into the self-guided tour area for a look around.  They only have guided tours a few times a day, but fortunately they keep the self-guided area open for much longer.

tasting room

Please don’t bother the beer.

We wandered around the brewery area and then headed back into the tap room where I got my growler of Troegenator.

my growler of ‘Nator

Love the Troegenator logo!

While we were getting ready to head out and get a late dinner after all that beer and just a bit of pretzel and popcorn, we decided to head over to Hershey Park’s Chocolate World, right next door!

We met a giant Kiss!

And we went on a little ride through the history and manufacturing process of their chocolate, with some impossibly catchy songs sung by animatronic cows.

cows… because the milk is the most important part.

Then we got a sample at the end.  For a free tour, it was totally worth 20 minutes or so!

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / Jun 21 2012 6:38 AM

    Wow, that place looks really cool. How did I miss that when I was in Hershey a couple years ago? I guess I’ll have to go back. Yes, I can still hear the cows… “It’s all about the milk….chocolate…. milk chocolate…..” Glad you had a good time!

    • KindFellow / Jun 21 2012 12:44 PM

      Eric, actually Tröegs moved from their previous location in Harrisburg to the current facility in Hershey last September, so you would have missed it.

    • Emily / Jun 22 2012 1:07 PM

      yeah it’s a new facility. next time I go up, I’ve got to make time for all of Hershey Park. 🙂

  2. laurenquartz / Jun 21 2012 9:13 AM

    Love it! Now that I read about the beer in that growler, I’m even more excited about the potential of sharing it with you… 😉 Thanks for photographing the cows too. Glad I now have a mental image of them, as I was picturing animatronic cows in a fake field, somewhat like a display at the natural history museum. Hehe.

    • Emily / Jun 22 2012 1:04 PM

      haha! I have more pictures of the cows too. I should put some of these on facebook for people who don’t follow my blog as well as you do. 🙂 Hope we can crack open that growler soon!

  3. laurenquartz / Jun 21 2012 9:14 AM

    Also, this is what the Troegs website has to say about the naming of the Flying Mouflan: “Dubbed the Flying Mouflan (for reasons that become clearer toward the bottom of the glass) this strong alluring ale is two beers in one.” Hmm.

    • KindFellow / Jun 21 2012 12:41 PM

      Here is what Siri has to say about Flying Mouflan.

      • Emily / Jun 22 2012 1:06 PM

        Siri knows everything!

Trackbacks

  1. Race Report: Double Creek Half Marathon « run. eat. nap. drink.
  2. Overdue Recap « run. eat. nap. drink.

Leave a Reply

