Skip to content
June 25 2012 / Emily

Dual Weekly Recap: Busy

RUN.

6/11-17
Monday – 5 morning miles
Tuesday – zero
Wednesday – 5 morning miles, inc 6×400
Thursday – 4 morning miles
Friday – rest
Saturday – 13.1 miles (Double Creek Half Marathon)
Sunday – rest
Total = 27.1 miles

6/18-24
Monday – 4.5 miles walking with some running thrown in
Tuesday – zero
Wednesday – 5.5 miles track tune-up (inc. 1 mile, 400m, 800m, 100m, 3200m)
Thursday – 4 after-work miles
Friday – rest
Saturday – 10.5 miles
Sunday – zero
Total = 24.5 miles

I could barely get motivated to run this week, how did you expect me to blog?  Decided to make the weekly recap a two-fer and at least mention both of the last 2 weeks.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: I need to start keeping a list during the week of foods that can compete for the award, as recency tends to win out when I’m thinking about good eats.  I’d say that the best eat of the fortnight was probably from a work event at the Chop House Grille: Seared Certified Angus Beef Tenderloin Tips with Grand Marnier orange sauce.  Seriously SO good.  Served about medium rare, and oh-so-tender.  Plus they were appetizer style so there was just a nice platter of them there for the taking.  And the nom-nom-nomming.

Worst Eat of the Week: I had another night (or two) of refried beans and pretzels for dinner.  Tasty but not “good eat” worthy.  Really, nothing too bad though, that I can recall.

NAP.

Oh yeah, I’d say the best nap of the two weeks was after the half marathon.  That day was true tribute to this blog.  It went something like this.  Eat, run, eat, nap, eat, drink, drink, drink, drink, eat.  A half marathon and beer festival on the same day was just brilliant.  Makes everything a little more guilt free.

DRINK.

There were so many new drinks over the past couple weeks.  I haven’t even had time to blog about the June 16th Harrisburg Brewers Fest, and I’m not sure I’ll ever get around to it, honestly.  So I’ll just do a mini-post here with a list of beers I sampled in this section. Listed as follows: Brewery – Beer name (type, if not clear by the name)

Sierra Nevada – Ovila Quad (Quadrupel)
Oskar Blues – G’Knight (Imperial Red)
Troegs – Perpetual (Imperial Pale Ale)
Nodding Head – Rascal (Brown Ale)
Roy Pitz Brewing Company – Mind Your P’s and Q’s (Abbey Tripel)
Duck Rabbit – Milk Stout
Fat Head’s – Bumbleberry (honey blueberry ale)
Otto’s – Pilsener Lager
Dogfish Head – Raison D’Etre (Belgian-style brown ale)
Sly Fox – Pikeland Pils (pilsner)
Ommegang – Witte (witbier)
Yuengling – Lord Chesterfield Ale
Duquesne – Pilsener
Millbock – White (unfiltered wheat ale)
Stoudt’s – American Pale Ale
Yards Brewing Co – Brawler (ale)
Spring House Brewing – Beyond the Gates (double IPA)
Ithaca Beer Co – Ground Break (saison ale)
Fegley’s Brewworks – Monkey Wrench (saison ale)
Rogue – Dad’s Little Helper (black IPA)
Union Barrel Works – Hefeweizen

I bolded my favorites, per my very unscientific and now half-forgotten star rankings given at the time.  Lots of people made fun of the little notebook I carried to jot everything down, but it helped me keep track of what I was trying!  As a warm day, it seems the lighter beers tended to get the favorable scores.  None of the beers were particularly unsavory, so it was a good showing all around.

Each pour of the Fat Head’s Bumbleberry had one blueberry dropped in for garnish – yum!

It sounds like a really long list of beers but the pours were only a couple ounces each. I did not have two sample cups most of the time. 🙂

The beer festival was a fundraiser for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, a disease which has affected my family. My sister and I already planned to attend before learning that, so it was a nice bonus.

Leave a Reply

