Skip to content
July 16 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: Another race gone by

RUN.

7/9-15
Monday – zero
Tuesday – 5 miles
Wednesday – zero
Thursday – 4 miles
Friday – rest
Saturday – 13.1 miles (The Scream! Half Marathon)
Sunday – rest/recovery
Total = 22.1 miles

I didn’t get the 2 weeks of solid training in that I had intended to between Ultimate Runner and The Scream!, and I think it showed in my performance, but that’s okay.  I needed the recovery from UR and didn’t want to over-do it before The Scream.  Looking forward to an easy week this week, and planning out my schedule for the Ridge to Bridge Marathon (henceforth this shall often be called “R2B”) in October.  I’m not too upset that R2B and my 10 year high school reunion fall on the same weekend.  Sorry high school.  Weddings >>> facebook > reunions when it comes to catching up with old friends.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: I absolutely have to give this to the giant plate of assorted macaroni & cheese that I chowed down on Saturday evening.  Some friends threw a combination mac & cheese/martini/pool party.  Yes… interesting combination.  Everyone brought their own dish of mac & cheese to share, and some martini ingredients.  This was one of the most gluttonous meals I have had in a while, or at least it seemed that way.  Then of course we all played in the pool (volleyball!) and relaxed in the hot tub – but we were sure to wait plenty of time after eating!

EIGHT varieties

Just to make myself feel a little better, I will give runner up status to the salad I had for dinner Sunday night.  I mean, I had to eat something vaguely healthy.  Don’t mind that Sunday lunch had been leftover mac & cheese.

As I said in my salad post last week (Easy Taco Salad), I was going to do some different things with the rest of the veggies.   This one was the remainder of the tub of lettuce, mandarin oranges, sweet grape tomatoes, pecans, blue cheese and raspberry vinaigrette.  Delicious.  The blue (bleu?) cheese added a nice tang, and I was glad to have picked it up.  Haven’t had blue in quite a while.

gotta have some veg!

Worst Eat of the Week: I don’t want to get too far into the reasons behind this, but I need to provide some explanation… for purposes of a silly scavenger hunt with friends, I was tasked to take a photo of myself eating a big squirt of sriracha hot sauce.  Do you know how hard it is to take an action photo of yourself with a cell camera?  It took me at least 4 tries to get an acceptable photo… I probably ate well over a tablespoon of sriracha during the process.  Note to self: moderation.  My mouth was on fire for a good hour, even after drinking both milk and water.   No, you don’t need to see the picture(s).

NAP.

Saturday afternoon, two hours.  No ifs, ands or buts.  When the morning starts before 4am, the afternoon nap is unbelievably perfect.

DRINK.

I had a cosmo or two on Saturday evening, which were rather tasty.  Not really one superstar drink of the week that I can pinpoint though.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / Jul 16 2012 9:57 PM

    OMG a mac a cheese party?? Oh wow, that sounds awesome. And can I just say I love your “checkered flag” fork? Quite appropriate for a “racer” if I do say. Nice job on a great week! That’s a short turn around between events and you did great.

    • Emily / Jul 22 2012 8:04 PM

      It was a great party theme! Haha I never thought of my utensils as checkered flags, but that does make sense – I see it now.

Trackbacks

  1. Posts You Might Have Missed This Week | Run Strong, Not Pretty

Leave a Reply

