Skip to content
July 22 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: Major Rest Week

RUN.

7/16-22
Monday – 4.5 mile walk
Tuesday – rest
Wednesday – 4 mile run
Thursday – rest
Friday – rest
Saturday – rest
Sunday – rest
Total = 8.5 miles

I was struggling on the mobility front early in the week – my legs were still quite sore from the half marathon last weekend, so I told myself I wanted to take a week off before jumping into marathon training.  But I had a friend to walk with on Monday so we had a nice long walk that evening which really helped my legs.  By Tuesday evening I was a little antsy to get moving again and my legs felt a lot better, so I planned a Wednesday morning run with a friend.  Near the end my legs started tightening up a bit so I ended up walking the last 0.2 and sticking to complete rest the remainder of the week.  Well I was supposed to spend the week focusing on stretching and massage but that didn’t happen.  Whoops.

My plan was to start marathon training week one at full strength tomorrow, but as I sat down today to start working on my training plan, I got stuck.  I know I want to improve, and I think that simply following a Hal Higdon mileage plan isn’t going to cut it anymore.  He does have more advanced plans with speedwork and intervals (like I followed for my half marathon last month), but I decided it was time to check out the other big dog in training plans: Pete Pfitzinger.  Plus, he was a US Olympian in the marathon so it seems apropos as the Olympics are approaching.  This evening I ordered his book Advanced Marathoning, and plan to use the book to guide me through my training.  Right now I am leaning toward the 12/55 plan, meaning 12 weeks of training with a peak mileage of 55 miles per week.  But once I get the book I will decide for sure.

I am currently 14 weeks from the Ridge to Bridge Marathon, so I will spend the next two weeks with some basic base-building.  Just need to start getting the miles back on the legs before jumping into the more strenuous and specific training I’m expecting from my new friend Pfitz.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: Bacon.

I have a terrible photo of my delicious breakfast this morning, but I want you to just focus on bacon.  I don’t have it often and I really should (for my taste buds) but really shouldn’t (for my waistline and arteries).  I mean the big whole wheat pancakes and real maple syrup and ruby red grapefruit juice were all part of the experience but they aren’t as exciting as bacon.

it’s all about the bacon.

Worst Eat of the Week: I can’t think of any big misses in the food world this week.

NAP.

My only nap of the week was one of those poor-choice naps again.  Friday evening I napped from like 5:30-8:00pm.  That would be a great start to a big night out, however I had no plans, so I was just up late late late.  I was able to catch up on a ton of my recorded shows from the ol’ DVR, so that was just fine, but it’s weird to stay up until like 2:30am while just chilling solo at home.

DRINK.

Beer.  Bourbon.  Bourbon beer.  Just bourbon.

I decided to crack open the bomber of Foothills Bourbon Barrel Aged People’s Porter that I picked up from City Beverage a month or so ago.  I’ve had the People’s Porter before, and the Bourbon Barrel Aged Brown Ale, but I believe this is the first time I’ve had this combination.  Also might be the first bottled Foothills beer I’ve had, since I spend a lot of time at the actual brewpub and they haven’t been bottling extensively for long.

The beer was great.  Really rich, slightly sweet, smooth, nice bourbon flavor without being too overpowering.  As a matter of fact, after I finished the beer, I had bourbon on the mind so I ended up capping off the evening with a pour of Bulleit bourbon on the rocks.

Bourbon Barrel Aged People’s Porter

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Steve / Jul 23 2012 11:22 AM

    nothing like a little rest week to recharge before marathon training starts back up. I’ll be intrigued to see what the PFitz 12/55 plan looks like and how you like it.

Leave a Reply

