Skip to content
August 12 2012 / Emily

Race Report: Mission 5k

I had the Mission 5k on my radar for my August race for a while, but only got around to registering on Wednesday evening.  My assigned workout for the day was 5 miles, so I decided I would run to and from the event, which was only a little over a mile away.  I was able to pick up my packet at Fleet Feet on Friday evening so I didn’t have to carry a shirt back after the race on Saturday morning.

Friday night was a friend’s 30th birthday party, but fortunately the festivities started early so I wasn’t cutting it too short when I left around 11:00.  I did have an excuse to skip the tequila shots!  Saturday’s race didn’t start until 8:30, so with the event being so close, I was able to sleep until about 7:00 and still have plenty of time for tea and banana and getting everything pulled together for the race.  I pinned my bib on and jogged out the door at 8:00.  Something about leaving for a race – on foot – only 30 minutes before the start just feels like I’m getting away with something (or going to be late!).  I will admit that wearing my bib number while clearly not (yet) involved in a race made me feel kind of odd as I jogged through downtown.

It was a humid morning and my warm up already had me sweating when I arrived with about 20 minutes until the race began.  There was a one mile fun-run finishing so the runners milled around until they could switch the finish line back to a start line again.  This was a chip timed event, with the chip stuck on the back of the bib.  The final results aren’t posted yet, so I’m not sure if the start time was chip-triggered too, or the (all too common) start being gun time and the finish only reflected by the chip.  I was close enough to the front that it was only a couple seconds difference for me. [edit: results have been located; it was a chip start and finish!]

Mission 5k Route, as linked on the Fleet Feet website

A few minutes past 8:30 the race began.  I’d chosen well, it seems, starting near the front of the pack, as I was only passed once or twice throughout the race and did a fair bit of passing.  The course contained a double-loop, so we first passed the three-mile marker, and then the two-mile marker before finally reaching the one-mile marker.  I have lived in Winston-Salem for 10 years and had never run on these roads.  Always interesting to not know where you are, in your own city.  The loop took us along Cemetery Street, which as you might guess is next to the Salem Cemetery.  The Fleet Feet group had put up placards with inspirational scripture along the route and it somehow took on extra meaning alongside tombstones.

Next we ran under Business 40 and through an industrial area with a few speed bumps.  We circled back around up a hill to a water stop and the loop began again.  I grabbed a small cup of water and progressed on.  The second loop was a little more challenging because the slower participants were working on their first loop.  It was a smaller race and thinned out enough that it wasn’t difficult to find gaps to run though, but it just involved some more thought.  This time the two-mile marker was accurate and I progressed along.  Around and under again, then back the hill where they had spread the water volunteers to both sides of the street.  Some runners were turning left for their second loop but I was turning right to head toward the finish.

Pushing toward the end, I passed one girl and was passed by one guy.  There was another lady ahead of me but I didn’t quite have enough left in the tank to chase her down.  It was a sprint down Trade Street past many of my favorite bars – a little dissonance there!  I finished the race in an official time of 24:58.  Really feel like I left it all out there.

A note on my time… I was expecting to finish faster based on how I felt.  If you note the map picture above, you’ll see the route is listed at 3.3 miles/5.3 kilometers.  While the website says it is a certified course, I’m wondering what is up with the extra distance.  Just out of curiosity, I entered my time into the Cool Running Pace Calculator (a favorite tool of mine) and if I ran 3.3 miles in 24:58, that’s a 7:33.9/mile pace.  If I ran 7.33.9 pace over just the 5k distance, my time would have been 23:30, a 40 second PR.  My Garmin wasn’t working during the race so I don’t know what distance it read, but I heard other people mentioning it seemed long as well.  I shall try to just think of it as free extra distance!

It took me a few minutes to find the water, as it was kind of shoved back in one small parking area with sponsor tents and two big vehicles in front of it.  I’d say that is one opportunity for improvement – put the water, or at least some water, in a different area.  The lines for the snacks, other foods and massages made it challenging to get to the water, especially as more finishers came through and it got congested.

It was in this time when a gentleman came up and asked “do you have a blog?  Run, Eat, Nap, Drink?”  Why yes I do!  I felt like a minor celebrity.  It was David from Running With Horses, one of the other blogs I follow.  It was a pleasure to meet him and chat with him, outside of the blogosphere.  Hey David – you won third in your age group but weren’t there for your prize!  Might want to check with Fleet Feet to see if they still have them for you.

Given that I was planning to run home, I didn’t want to fill up too much on the goodies provided.  But Sweet Frog Yogurt was there with delicious flavored cups of frozen yogurt, and I couldn’t pass that up.  I got cookies & cream and it was delicious.  I’d also seen that Qdoba was going to be there offering rice & bean bowls, but that just did not sound appealing at 9am.  Maybe after a longer race when it was a little later in the day!

Official results started printing out and I found that I would need to stick around for an award!  If I remember them correctly, I was 41st overall finisher, 7th woman.  The overall first place woman was in my age group, so she won in the overall female prizes and I took first place in my age group, women 25-29.  It is always a treat to win a prize for my hobby!

Mug and certificate for winning!

Here’s where I have to make a cocky admission… I went into this race expecting to win something.  I wore my RaceReady Shorts with the extra stash of pockets along the back so I would be able to stick a medal in there for the run home.  Perhaps that was an arrogant move, but I was right, so maybe that makes it better?  However, obviously the prize of a mug and sturdy certificate isn’t something I can just put in my pocket, so I decided to just speed-walk home carrying them, instead of trying to run with them.

I also want to note, the run was to benefit the Winston-Salem Rescue Mission, a Christian organization helping homeless and transitioning men in the city.  It was really uplifting to see a couple dozen of the men from the mission involved in running the race and volunteering around the course!  The race also benefits Mission: Feet First which fits and provides shoes to the needy, including all the men at the Rescue Mission.  The run also was the race for a 5k training program Fleet Feet puts on, so there were many men and women out there running their first ever 5k.  It was inspiring to see all of these hard-working people out on the course!

Results from Ultimate Race Management:
Overall
Age group

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / Aug 12 2012 6:00 PM

    Congrats on a great race for a great cause and winning your age group! The shorts paid off eh? I had a similar experience at the Running of the Lights, however they do advertise that as a 5.5K (It ended up being only like 3.27 miles, but still longer than 5K) and I took a look at my (then brand new) Garmin at the 3.1 mile mark, noted the time and then a couple minutes later hit the finish. However, my time for the 3.27 mile was under my 5K PR, so I didn’t feel bad listing my 3.1 “time” as my PR. Thankfully I set a new PR shortly thereafter and didn’t have to worry if it was “official” or not. I’m surprised you didn’t get close to your PR time on the long course if the “true course” would have been that huge of a PR. But then again, two tenths is a significant distance.

    • Emily / Aug 13 2012 10:19 PM

      Thank you! I guess next time I need shorts with an even bigger pocket in case of more mugs to carry. I did Running of the Lights a few years ago, but they were still billing it as a 5k at that time. Nice that you’ve gotten your PR taken care of on a more exact course after that one. I’m hoping my next 5k can provide a PR on a 5k course. 🙂

  2. Deepa / Aug 12 2012 7:00 PM

    Great job on the run & on the award! Not as cool as Wally the Watermelon ;), but still AWESOME!

    • Emily / Aug 13 2012 10:19 PM

      The watermelon is much more unique! Thanks 🙂

  3. laurenquartz / Aug 13 2012 4:16 PM

    Awesome race! And always so great to support a worthy cause. 🙂

    • Emily / Aug 13 2012 10:21 PM

      Thank you! It is nice when the cause is a good one. There certainly are times when I wouldn’t otherwise be supporting a particular cause if not for the race – not that I *disagree* but at least I often have other priorities.

  4. David / Aug 14 2012 9:37 PM

    Great recap and the feeling is mutual in regards to our opportunity to meet post-race. I admit that I did a double take when you mentioned an age group place, and sure enough, I checked and it was true. I was thinking I came in 4th, but forgot about the Master’s division winner possibly coming from our group. I’ll take it (especially since I don’t get to take too many of them!). Anyway, I agree on the distance and will check with the Davis’ to see if they had similar questions brought up. My garmin is usually spot on, and I came up with 3.23. I also take good lines, so I can’t believe I would miss the tangents that bad on a 5k. Have a great week, and I’ll be following your training plan. I have been a Higdon disciple for the past couple of years, but seem to be hearing more and more about the Pfitzinger plan for increasing mileage and dropping the times. Just some worry about over-use injuries since Higdon has treated me really well.

    • Emily / Aug 22 2012 7:07 AM

      I’m curious if you ever talked with the Davises at Fleet Feet about the distance? Did they have any other questions about that? I have also been using Higdon plans from the very beginning of my running, so I felt a little bad abandoning him for Pftiz, but I thought trying something new might be the ticket. We’ll see how it translates in the race.

      • David H / Aug 23 2012 4:43 PM

        Hey Emily, just now had the opportunity to stop by and pick up the award. Emily wasn’t there and the group up front was not aware of any feedback. That said, I’m going to reach out and check directly with her. I’ll let you know. Oh, and when I run into Hal, I’ll try to let him down easy for you!

  5. David / Aug 25 2012 5:50 PM

    Ok, yes, we were right. The course was 3.2 despite the certification. Emily went back and forth on the decision, but ultimately (and possibly right up to race morning) elected to have the start / finish line located at the intersection near the tables, music and gathering area, as opposed to .5 miles up the street. Good news in that we didn’t fall off of the 5k pace by 40 seconds +/-. Bad news, would have been nice to have known, similar to the Tanglewood New Year’s Eve run that advertises at 3.3 or 3.4 or something like that. By the way, very interesting about your timing chip. I will keep that in mind with light colored shirts.

    • Emily / Aug 27 2012 10:26 PM

      Thanks for following up! I’m a bit disappointed that they didn’t tell us, but I can understand the rationale (but I don’t agree with it). Glad to know my pace wasn’t that far off! Hopefully I can find a PR in my next 5k… if it’s actually 5k.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Recap: Getting Serious « run. eat. nap. drink.
  2. Innovative Timing Systems and Timing Chip Stains « run. eat. nap. drink.

Leave a Reply

