Skip to content
October 26 2012 / Emily

Dual Weekly Recap: The Taper

RUN.

10/8-14
Monday – rest
Tuesday – 8 miles with 5x600m at 5k race pace
Wednesday – 6 miles
Thursday – rest
Friday – 4 miles with 6x100m strides
Saturday – 9 miles
Sunday – 9 miles (should have been 16)
Total = 36 miles

10/15-21
Monday – rest
Tuesday – 7 miles with 8x100m strides
Wednesday – 8 miles with 3x1600m at 5k race pace
Thursday – rest
Friday – 5 miles
Saturday – rest
Sunday – zero (should have been 12 miles)
Total = 20 miles

Well as I write this, the marathon is tomorrow and most of another week of the taper has passed, beyond what was reflected above.  I think you could call my taper a bit overdone.  Note my not-insignificant reductions to the weekend mid-long runs.  The first week, I just slept the day away after a pair of late nights and I didn’t have the time (okay I didn’t make the time) for the full 16 miles.   The second week, I was out of town with friends.   I thought the rest of the group was all taking a canoe trip on Saturday afternoon, and expected to be back at the rented cabin alone with time to run.  But it turns out one of the other girls was also not participating in the canoe trip, so we hung out at the house together.  For more on that afternoon, proceed to the “nap” section.

Goodbye assorted 4:00 alarms. I think I’ll sleep in.

I had a few moments of taper madness, but overall this hasn’t been a dreadful taper.  I’ve been so busy with other things, it has kind of been a relief for my runs to be shorter.  It has allowed me to sleep a little later – delete all those dreadful assorted 4:00 alarms from my phone!  I’m the busiest I’ve ever been at work for a variety of reasons, not least of all the not-quickly-enough-approaching election, so I have been working later than usual too.  There were a few days where I was sure that if my taper was a doctor, he would prescribe double amputation, just due to the weird twinges in my legs.  If you’ve gone through tapers, you might know the ones.  “Does my ankle usually feel like that?  What is wrong with my knee?  Is that a cramp in my foot or a stress fracture?” etc etc.  I think part of it is the reduced run workload means the familiar and comforting slight muscle exhaustion is not there, allowing me to focus on other things.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Weeks: I have to give this one to chili night at the river.  I made a big crock pot of my fan-favorite White Bean Chicken Chili, one friend made a pot of more traditional chili, and a third friend made a lovely oxtail soup.  Then we had all the fixins: a few kinds of cornbread, cheese, green onions, jalapenos, avocado and sour cream.

chili central!

accoutrements

Worst Eat of the Weeks: This one is unconventional, but it goes to my local Harris Teeter for discontinuing carrying Wheat Chex.  I mean seriously?  Aren’t these one of the most classic cereals?  They still have Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Multi-Bran Chex, Honey Nut Chex and even Chocolate Chex.  The store manager told me they are only carrying Wheat Chex during holidays now.  I mean… other people eat this right?  It’s not just for Chex Mix!  I settled with a box of Multi-Bran Chex, which are the same size and texture, but they have twice the sugar (3/4 cup Wheat = 5g, 3/4 cup Multi-Bran = 10g), which is really disappointing.  I don’t know why companies so often sweeten the multi-grain version.  Cheerios are the same way: 1 cup standard Cheerios = 1g sugar; Multi-Grain Cheerios = 6g sugar.  Anyway, I have purchased Wheat Chex at Target before, so I will have to remember to look there next visit.  It’s just frustrating not to be able to buy my everyday breakfast at my grocery store.  It’s not a weird cereal.  I wasn’t too upset when my once-upon-a-time breakfast choice of low fat granola was no longer stocked, because it seemed obscure enough.

recycling my last box of Wheat Chex 😦

NAP.

Oh man some great naps.  Saturday afternoon once most of my friends ventured out for a few hours of canoeing, one other friend and I ran some errands, chatted, had lunch, each stretched out on one of the couches and read books for a while, then both fell asleep.  The house’s walls pretty much were entirely sliding glass over screen doors so we had them open and listened to the river flow by and the birds and other critters in the woods outside.  It was so peaceful.  Was a little jarring to be awoken by a dozen rowdy folks flowing into the house when they got back though!

DRINK.

I don’t think I can pick just one!  I’ve been enjoying lots of different Oktoberfest and other fall-themed beers.

Might just have to pick the Duck-Rabbit Märzen because of the cute little hat they put on their mascot for the occasion.

do you see the duck or the rabbit?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. hinsone / Oct 26 2012 7:50 PM

    Good luck tomorrow! Can’t wait to read the recap!

Leave a Reply

