Skip to content
November 19 2012 / Emily

Quad-Weekly Recap: Catching Up

Well I haven’t done a weekly recap in a month.  Whoops.  There hasn’t been much to report, since I did a separate post for the marathon.  I really just feel like I need to write this so I can get the monkey off my back.  Need room for more monkeys.

RUN.

10/22-28
Monday – rest
Tuesday – 6 miles
Wednesday – rest
Thursday – 5 miles including 6x100m strides
Friday – 4
Saturday – 26.2 miles – Ridge to Bridge Marathon
Sunday – recover
Total = 41.2 miles

10/29-11/4
Monday – rest
Tuesday – rest
Wednesday – rest
Thursday – rest (this is getting excessive)
Friday – rest (embarrassing)
Saturday – 2.25 mile walk (better than zero)
Sunday – rest (be ashamed now)
Total = 2.25 miles

11/5-11
Monday – rest (ugh)
Tuesday – 3 miles
Wednesday – zero
Thursday – 5 miles
Friday – zero
Saturday – zero
Sunday – 8 miles running, 3.5 miles hiking
Total = 19.5 miles

11/12-18
Monday – zero
Tuesday – zero
Wednesday – 3.1 miles
Thursday – 4 miles
Friday – zero
Saturday – 10 miles (Raven Rock Rumble Trail Race)
Sunday – rest
Total = 17.1 miles

So basically that is all pretty awful.  I desperately need to choose some races and build myself a training plan to create some damn accountability.  Obviously I’m not capable of keeping up even moderate mileage without something written down.  And as you can see, I’ve been too shamed by it to even blog.

Anyway, the whole Uwharrie thing (if you missed it) has left me still unsure about what races I am going to do next.  I need to just decide and register for something.  I have a lot of choices and a lot of things to think about.  To complicate things, I am finding a lot more longer races that sound appealing in early and mid-December, rather than January and February, but I don’t think I should go quite so far right away.  Probably the Frosty 50k would be a good one, and perhaps I shouldn’t go ultra in 2012.

EAT.

Best Eat of the Weeks: goodness I have no idea.  I know I ate a bunch of epic macaroni & cheese in the days before the marathon.

Worst Eat of the Weeks: this section starts becoming silly when I’m thinking over 4 weeks of foods.

NAP.

Yes, I napped.

DRINK.

Enjoyed a nice big bottle of Peach Porch Lounger, part of New Belgium Brewing’s Lips of Faith Series.  It was nice and refreshing and made me wish I had gotten around to drinking it in warmer weather, rather than the colder mid-November time I cracked it open.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. laurenquartz / Nov 19 2012 11:17 PM

    You’ll find something fun to run in I’m sure! Don’t be so hard on yourself for taking a break. Breaks are just as healthy as a consistent workout regimen. 🙂 Want to sign up for a duathlon or a tri? That would work in that cross training you’ve been after. 😉

    • Emily / Nov 19 2012 11:57 PM

      Being hard on myself is a specialty! I like the idea of a duathlon or a tri but I don’t see myself getting comfortable on a bike any time soon (and winter isn’t the ideal time to start), and I am too cheap to belong to a pool. And I’m full of excuses. I just need to be disciplined and do some sort of cross training on my own. 🙂

  2. Steve / Nov 20 2012 8:31 AM

    I know you’re aware of my thoughts on recovery post marathon but I’d say that the week of 10/29-11/4 was 2.25 miles too many. There’s no reason to jump back into it too fast unless you are going for active recovery to be prepped for another race. My first miles post Ridge to Bridge weren’t until 11/12 so I’d say you’re doing just fine with the miles and I’m sure you’ll get more consistent once you make some concrete plans for the spring.

    Great job at the trail race btw.

    • Emily / Nov 20 2012 5:11 PM

      It was just a 2.25 mile walk. I was definitely getting antsy. And yes, I do know your recovery strategies tend to be very heavy on the recovery days. Everyone is different out there! And thank you, it was a fun trail race.

Leave a Reply

