Skip to content
November 28 2012 / Emily

Weekly Recap: Finding Motivation

RUN.

11/19-25
Monday – 4 miles
Tuesday – 4 miles
Wednesday – zero
Thursday – 5 kilometers
Friday – zero
Saturday – 5 miles
Sunday – zero (unless I can count 2+ hours of IKEA dresser assembly)
Total = 16.1 miles

Whoops, another flop of a week.  Went for the 5k distance on Thanksgiving morning since I wasn’t able to make an actual Turkey Trot race that day.  Called it my own private race, and would you fancy that – I finished first!  Can I count the roughly 390 miles I drove on each Wednesday and Friday (to and from Maryland)?  That would really help my mileage.

I reached my annual mileage goal after Tuesday’s run.  1200 miles for the year!  Very proud of that, especially achieving it already in spite of a good month+ of negligible exercise.  In that time of extreme slacking, I’ve put on a few pounds that I definitely need to lose (and a few more after that).  The holidays are never pretty in terms of eating, and I don’t want to also be not-pretty due to roly-poly stomach.  Finding motivation!

In a late decision, I have decided to forgo the convenient, right-down-the-hill Mistletoe Half Marathon/5k this weekend, and instead head out to Burlington with Steve for the Run for the Rock 14 mile trail race.  I have been feeling pretty sluggish lately, so this move to trails is definitely helping in making that a little more mentally okay.  Just don’t think there is a strong half marathon race in my legs for this weekend, so a trail run seems like a better pace.  Plus, I was able to save $20 on the registration fee by skipping the t-shirt during late registration this week.  Not bad!  Of course, I’m now anticipating some awesome shirt that I regret not getting.  It’ll be okay.  Good company, a carpool and a cheaper registration wins out.  I have so many shirts.

Also, just ordered some RaceReady capris with the pockets (5402LD style), so I can run in colder weather and still have some pockets without resorting back to my disliked belt.  I have two pairs of the RaceReady LD shorts (2302LD style) that I swear by for marathons.  The pockets are clutch.  I certainly have other more flattering and/or stylish shorts but the convenience factor wins out all day long.  I definitely recommend this company for their American-made and practical shorts.  I’ll report back on the capris!

EAT.

Best Eat of the Week: I mean… how can I not pick Thanksgiving?  Artichoke-parmesan appetizer dip, turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, gravy, ginger ale salad, homemade cranberry sauce, corn, rolls, pecan pie, ice cream, beer, wine… and I am sure I am missing something!  Pretty sure Thanksgiving needs to be the official run. eat. nap. drink. holiday – how much more appropriate can it get?

Worst Eat of the Week: I was sorely disappointed not to walk away with any leftovers, and am still considering heading to the grocery and getting some turkey, stuffing, gravy and cranberry.  So not a “worst eat” really, just something I was sad to miss out on.

NAP.

Best nap was probably in the car on the way home from Thanksgiving.  My mom was driving and I just curled up in the back seat with a blanket and was out like a light.

DRINK.

Hmm, gotta go with the hot spiced apple cider with a couple shots of Bulleit bourbon that I brought to the cold cold tailgate on Saturday.  Kept me nice and warm.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. laurenquartz / Nov 28 2012 8:16 AM

    Though 16 miles isn’t your average week, don’t beat yourself up about it. You’re out there, you’re running, and you’re (hopefully) enjoying doing it. That’s what counts. Your body will readjust to the shift in calorie burning if you let it. (Take it from someone who went from working out pretty hard core most days a week to being practically sedentary.) Not that I recommend becoming sedentary, but 16 miles a week is far from it. 🙂 Maybe you can focus on # of workouts per week instead of just the mileage.

    Anyway, sounds like a good week of eats and drinks so that’s gotta count for something! 🙂

    • Emily / Nov 28 2012 11:00 PM

      thanks friend. 🙂 I’ve got race plans now, so I’ll be back to a routine soon, and feeling better about myself in turn!

  2. Iris / Nov 28 2012 10:50 AM

    I’ll look for you at the Rock on Saturday! I’m only doing the 7-miler. Not sure I have 14 trail miles in me this week, plus I’ll get to the soup before the fasties. And congrats getting into Umstead today. See you there too if I survive the training!

    • Emily / Nov 28 2012 11:01 PM

      Hey – I will definitely look for you out there! I’m liking this blog community. Don’t eat all the soup please, haha! Look forward to Umstead, you will survive.

  3. steve's house of running / Nov 28 2012 5:48 PM

    I hear that Steve guy is pretty awesome.

    • Emily / Nov 28 2012 11:01 PM

      meh you know he’s a decent guy

  4. hinsone / Nov 28 2012 9:07 PM

    Congratulations on hitting your goal, 1200 miles is VERY impressive. If you did count the 700+ miles of driving that would be one HECK of an Ultra. Disappointed you won’t be at Mistletoe, but enjoy the trail race! Those still scare me somewhat, although I did rather enjoy the Vineyard Stomp race I did, but it was wide double lane, very un-technical trail, except for one tiny stretch through the woods. I’d be willing to give it a go, but maybe not yet.

    • Emily / Nov 28 2012 11:03 PM

      The thought of running 700 miles is nauseating. And thank you! So pumped to meet my goal without having to go run silly miles on Dec 31. Definitely look into some trails sometime. I find it a nice diversion, definitely a different kind of running. Somehow the people seem nicer. Look for some 5ks or something!

Leave a Reply

