Skip to content
January 01 2013 / Emily

2012 Annual Recap

Another year complete!  2012 was a good year in running for me.  I started this blog and have had fun writing about my hobbies: primarily running, but also periodically eating, napping and drinking.  It has been nice, if a bit vain, to know people are reading about my experiences and (hopefully) enjoying it.  My initial purpose for this blog was to provide the kind of information and race reports that I have sought out and been largely unable to find.  I hope I have done that for my readers, besides just virtually patting myself on the back for running this and cooking that.

Throughout the year I ran 1313 total miles, as well as walking 38.2 miles and hiking 3.5, for a total of about 1355 miles covered on foot for purposes of fitness and fun.  This exceeded my goal of 1200 miles, and far surpassed my 2011 mileage of 989 miles.

I ran 17 races in 2012:

six 5ks
one 5.2 mile trail run
one 10k
one 10 mile trail run
one 14 mile trail run
one 15 mile trail run
two half marathons
three full marathons
& one Ultimate Runner (5-event track meet – 1mi, 400m, 800m, 100m, 5k XC)

And I got new personal bests in many of those events: 800m, 5k, 10k, half marathon and full marathon.  The 14 and 15 mile trail runs were my first measured races at those distances, so those are automatic PRs as well, but don’t count as improvement.  I also was lucky enough to win age group awards 9 times in 2012: 5 first place awards, 3 second place and 1 third place award.  I still have more time before hitting the more competitive age groups spanning 30-45, so I hope to continue this streak!  It does, of course, require finding small races, since I’m really not particularly fast.  I just have to be one of the few women my age to show up.

all my goodies from 2012.

all my goodies from 2012.

I continued my race-a-month streak, now making 46 consecutive months where I participated in a race, dating back to my first half marathon in March 2009.  Last year I started keeping track of my entry fees as well.  While there certainly are races I paid for in 2011 and ran in 2012, and races I paid for in 2012 and have yet to run in 2013, I’ve found it interesting to tally.  My race fees for the events I ran in 2012 amounted to $675.04.  This is a nice improvement from the 18 races I ran in 2011 for $1013.48.  A big part of that is that I ran three marathons in 2012 as opposed to five marathons in 2011, including expensive ones like the Rock & Roll Mardi Gras Marathon for $104 and the San Francisco Marathon for $144.  2012’s marathons were the Umstead Trail Marathon for $70.64; Blue Ridge Marathon, registered on major discount for $43.95; and Ridge to Bridge Marathon was the priciest race of the year at $90.

I traveled within North Carolina, and to Pennsylvania, Maryland and Virginia for races.  No new states.  In 2013 I aim to travel more, both for running and for tourism, though I generally try to make those coincide.  Hopefully I will visit and run in multiple heretofore unvisited states.  I have a few possibilities on my list that I’m not ready to blog about quite yet.  Of course, the three races I am registered for so far in 2013 are all in NC.  It’s a large state with lots of topographical variety and beautiful areas, so you have to understand why I didn’t stray much over the year.  Plus, keeping the travel expenses at mostly gasoline instead of airfare and/or hotel rooms really keeps the price of my hobby down.

In terms of my other blog-appropriate activities, in June I installed an app called Untapped on my phone.  I have been keeping track of the beers I try.  It seems that I have had at least 141 unique beers in just those seven months!  Some were just samples at the beer festivals I attended but most were full bottles or pints.  Honestly I’m rather floored at that tally.  Obviously I enjoy trying new beers, but I didn’t realize I’d had so many.

2013 will begin in earnest this weekend with my first ultra-marathon, the Frosty 50k right here in Winston-Salem.  I expect 2013 will be a year of more but slower miles, as I add distances and run more trails.  My 2013 goal will be a modest increase to 1500 miles.  Additionally, I resolve to do two non-running exercises per week this year, to tone up and slim down.  I don’t belong to a gym so I’m not looking for exercise classes, simply stuff at home such as curls, ab work and yoga.  I need to strengthen my core and use more muscle groups.

I hope you all had a fantastic 2012, but no matter how the past year went for you, I wish you an awesome 2013!  Keep running, eating, napping and drinking. 🙂

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. socialshark / Jan 1 2013 10:19 PM

    Great 2012 recap! See you at Frosty 50K!!

    • Emily / Jan 3 2013 10:26 AM

      thank you! see you at the race!

  2. College Tri / Jan 1 2013 10:19 PM

    That’s an awesome monthly race streak! Unfortunately, I can’t afford that right now as a college student! Definitely would love to start that after I graduate though!

    • Emily / Jan 3 2013 10:28 AM

      I’ve had a lot of fun keeping my streak going. It is a pricey one though! I’ve benefited from some inexpensive local races, but I also remind myself that most people have a hobby that costs them a little money now and then. Mine’s pretty healthy. Good luck with starting your own streak once you have some more disposable income. Thanks for reading my blog!

  3. Mary / Jan 1 2013 10:25 PM

    Well done in 2012!!

    • Emily / Jan 3 2013 10:28 AM

      thank you! it was a good year.

  4. Nathan Maxwell / Jan 1 2013 10:30 PM

    Love your 2012 recap! See you at Frosty 50!

  5. laurenquartz / Jan 2 2013 8:37 AM

    Awesome, Em! So proud of you! 🙂

    • Emily / Jan 3 2013 10:29 AM

      thanks Red, I had fun sharing some of those miles with you. Hopefully more in 2013! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 2013 Annual Recap | run. eat. nap. drink.

Leave a Reply

