Skip to content
February 19 2013 / Emily

Blog Birthday and Announcement

Today my blog turns one year old.  Happy birthday, run. eat. nap. drink.!

Throwback to my first two posts on February 19, 2012 that got it all started: Runner. Eater. Napper. Drinker. & Race Report: President’s Day Freedom Run 5k.

Thank you to my readers for proving that I’m not just talking to myself out here in cyberspace.  I still would write, of course: my college radio show was online radio so I could see how many listeners I had.  Sometimes it was zero, or one… and the one was the feed I’d left going in my dorm room.

At the time I’m writing this, I’ve had 8,348 views spanning my 96 posts (this is #97) and 375 comments.  Not counting the 2,820 spam comments that is!  So, thanks again readers, and no thanks to all you spam bots.

Boulevard Blogiversary Beer...

Boulevard Blogiversary Beer…

I decided to celebrate with a nice frosty beverage.  Specifically, a Boulevard Brewing Single-Wide IPA.

Why Emily, you might ask, is this beer choice significant?!

Thanks for asking – it sure is.  Time to take a deep breath and put it in writing…

I have officially registered for the 44.4 mile Brew to Brew solo run on April 6.  The race runs from Boulevard Brewing in Kansas City, Missouri to Free State Brewing in Lawrence, Kansas.  If I could buy any Free State beers here in NC, I would have one of those as well, but I suppose I don’t get to try those until 44.4 miles have elapsed.

Brew to Brew will be my longest run to date.  I’m thinking of it as a 50k plus a half marathon, which sounds alternately totally doable and totally insane.

Brew to Brew, from what I can tell, was originally set up as a team relay event.  2013 will be the first year they have a separate day for solo runners.  Individuals will run on Saturday and the teams will run Sunday.  They offered the option for solo runners to participate on Sunday, but without being eligible for awards.  I was tempted to choose the potential of more company on Sunday since I don’t expect to be in contention for awards, but Saturday works better for my “explore Kansas City over a long weekend” plans.

So my marathon next weekend is now just sort of a training run on the way toward the bigger goal of 44.4 miles.  I need to plan out the 5 weeks between the events.  I plan to look for a 50k in mid-to-late March as a supported training run.  Or I guess a timed race, maybe 6 hours, would be a good option as well.  I’ll see what I can find.  I doubt I’ll get much past 50k distance before tackling the 44.4 miles, but more likely a weekend with 50k and 10-15 miles on back to back days.  I’m happy to hear any thoughts or suggestions regarding that plan.

Aside from the obvious challenge of a new long distance, I waffled for months on this decision, mostly because it is likely to be a solo vacation.  I want to explore Kansas City, but am not always the best at going out and about by myself.  It will be a challenge for me in more ways than one.  There are a couple museums I hope to visit, a Royals baseball game to attend, and some of their famous barbecue to sample… that should keep me busy for a few days after the run.

I chose the race for the opportunity to try this new longer distance on a terrain that should be easier than many races of this distance, since they are usually on challenging trails.  Much of this course is on the shoulder of highways.  So it may not be terribly scenic, but I will deal with that.  Also, there is the obvious appeal of two craft breweries marking the start and finish lines.  Beer – enough said, right?

Finally, the event is a fundraiser for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  My father lost siblings to Cystic Fibrosis, so fighting this disease has special meaning to me.  It kept me from meeting my aunt and uncle.

Combining beer, running and fighting CF… it seemed like a no-brainer.  Well… as much as running 44.4 miles would ever seem like a no-brainer!

Time to really get my ultra on.

Here’s to more miles for all of us over the next year at run. eat. nap. drink.  Sláinte!

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Margaret / Feb 19 2013 8:04 PM

    Wow Emily! Just found out about your blog, you put my newfound “running” habit to shame! My sister-inlaw lives outside of Kansas City, a little south of where you’re planning to run, it’s a really cool city! Can’t wait to see how this goes!

    • Emily / Mar 23 2013 2:10 PM

      I’ve enjoyed following your blog and your growing family as well. And all runners have to start somewhere! You’ve got more pressing uses of your time too. 🙂

  2. Paul Starling / Feb 19 2013 10:07 PM

    Congratulations on your one year blog anniversary. Good luck on your training for and race upcoming in Missouri. I can tell you that before I completed my 40 mile race, I had not ran further than the 50k distance so you will be all right! Looking for a 50k – then come join Nathan and I on March 23 at Gator Trail 50k at Lake Waccamaw. It is located between Whiteville/Wilmington off of Hwy 74. It is 1:40 from my house so it would be quite a drive for you, but I have run it twice and like it. It is on trail but not too difficult, but is completed in 5 loops.

    • Emily / Mar 23 2013 2:11 PM

      thank you! hope Gator Trail 50k went well!

  3. Kenley / Feb 20 2013 12:22 PM

    Happy bog birthday. Wow an ultra. beer and running …..awesome. i dont have any advise on training but I wish you the best! I lived in Overland Park and I know the brisket there in KC is awesome. Nothing beats Smithfields though. lol

  4. Meredith / Feb 21 2013 7:44 AM

    Happy blog-a-versary! I’m so proud of you for tackling this race. I love that it fights CF, too. Go Emily! WABS!

    • Emily / Mar 23 2013 2:11 PM

      thanks & WABS!

  5. Mary Shannon Johnstone / Feb 23 2013 10:11 PM

    Now why isn’t that 44.4 mile race on 4/4? 4/6 just doesn’t make sense. And it should start at 4:44am. HAPPY birthday to your blog! You are going to have so much fun in your upcoming ultras.

  6. David H / Mar 2 2013 6:25 PM

    Congratulations Emily on the blog birthday. I had to laugh at the evolution of your running over the past year. I think the comment, “so my marathon next weekend is now just sort of a training run,” about says it all. Keep up the miles and we’ll be interested in hearing about your 44.4 miler. I had also had to laugh at your online radio show comments. By the way, are the shows archived and available via podcast? Again congrats and keep up the running and writing.

  7. anna peterson / Mar 3 2013 12:19 AM

    Congrats on your one year anniversary! You should post on the yumminess that you brought to the super bowl party! I wish you much luck in your big run and thanks for fighting CF. I’ve lost some students to that disease.

Leave a Reply

