Skip to content
November 16 2013 / Emily

One Week

This post won’t be substantive because I still don’t really grasp the reality of what I’ll be doing next Saturday.  One week until the JFK 50 Mile run.

one. week.

My training has not been what it should.  My long runs went pretty well but then I’d let myself be tremendously lazy and/or busy and miss almost a whole week of running.  I did not even have a 50 mile WEEK in preparation for this 50 mile run.  You know, 50 miles all in one day.  Good thing finishing an ultra is about slow and steady.

The cut-off time is 12 hours.  That equates to a 14:24/mile pace.  I should be able to do that even with a fair bit of walking/hiking, as long as my legs stay somewhat responsive to what I am asking them to do.

I’ve been able to talk a fair bit with folks who have run JFK in the past, which has been helpful.  I know what to expect of the course, or as much as I can feign to understand while sitting with rested legs in a warm house.  I even just learned one of the aid stations usually has red velvet cake – now that is something to pull me to mile 38!  After that it is “just” 12 miles to the end…

Well, the hay is in the barn, meager a supply as it is, and I just need to rest my legs and fuel my body over the next week.  And feverishly check the weather of course.  Current forecast is low 39/high 53, 10 mph wind, 20% chance precip.  Good, good.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. smallfryesguest / Nov 17 2013 12:18 PM

    good. good. Love the ending! You are going to do great and I hope you enjoy your week at home too! -Big

    • Emily / Nov 22 2013 8:22 AM

      thank you! look forward to seeing you next month 🙂

  2. spottedimages / Nov 17 2013 1:49 PM

    Good luck 🙂

  3. kenley / Nov 18 2013 9:50 PM

    Best wishes and Good Luck!

  4. Cindy / Nov 19 2013 11:12 AM

    You will do just fine. You have a great base. I will be thinking of you on Saturday. I’m running the Crooked Road 24 Hour Ultra race in Rocky Mount, VA. I am hoping for 100 miles in 24…we shall see! Good luck and keep us posted!

    • Emily / Nov 22 2013 8:24 AM

      Thanks, and good luck getting up to 100 miles! My non-runner friends were shocked to learn that plenty of people go beyond even 50 miles. Enjoy your race.

Leave a Reply

