Skip to content
October 24 2013 / Emily

Candy Corn Bugles

Bugles are one of my favorite party snacks.  I have been on a multi-year mission to Bring Bugles Back.  Not that they ever went away, but it seems many people had forgotten about them.  When we were kids, everyone stuck them on their fingers and pretended to have claws.  Now I bring them to a gathering and there is usually someone there who says “Gosh, I haven’t had Bugles in forever, I used to love these!”

For my last tailgate, I decided to make a Bugle snack… Candy Corn Bugles.  The conical shape of the Bugle reminded me of everyone else’s favorite fall treat – though I do not like candy corn.  I bought some orange colored chocolate and pulled some white chocolate out of the cupboard and went to dipping.

This is a very easy but rather tedious process.

  • Melt the orange chocolate according to package instructions
  • Dip the base of the Bugle in orange chocolate
  • Repeat for an entire bag
  • Let the chocolate set so you can handle the orange end
  • Melt the white chocolate, again according to package instructions
  • Dip the tip and repeat repeat repeat
  • Let them set, then serve

I actually only used one of the bags of Bugles, and these were relative small 4.1 oz bags I got at the Dollar Tree when I went shopping for the cute little bowl.  (Always impressed at what you can find there for a buck.)  I used the entire bag of orange chocolate more quickly than I had anticipated.  I had plenty of white chocolate already on hand from previous treats but used probably 1/4 of the quantity of white as I did of orange.

Obviously the order of the colors does depart from the standard candy corn colors, with yellow at the bottom, orange middle and white tip, but this seemed an easier way to take advantage of the yellow Bugle.  Oh and the orange chocolate is vanilla flavored, not orange.  That would taste odd!

These were quite a hit at the tailgate.  The sweet and salty combination is delicious and popular.  If you decide to make them, have fun and enjoy!

1-DSC07934

The goods

1-DSC07935

melt your orange chocolate in your fingerprinty microwave

1-DSC07938

dip dip dip

1-DSC07940

orange bases

1-DSC07944

let chocolate set in a fridge apparently full of mostly drinks

1-DSC07948

white tips dipped

1-DSC07950

cute candy corn bowl optional – $1 at Dollar Tree!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. laurenquartz / Oct 24 2013 7:56 PM

    Cute and delicious looking, Em! As always, love your humor. 🙂

  2. smallfryesguest / Oct 25 2013 1:36 PM

    Brilliant! Brilliant snack and brilliantly written. Love it.

Leave a comment